Posted 09 May 2015 - 10:50 AM
There aren't usually any sort of repercussions for using these points: you spend them and gain a benefit, the only penalty being dwindling stock of points itself. What if calling on this quite powerful resource demanded a balance, though? By gaining an advantage now the character might not be avoiding trouble, simply deferring it. This could be a direct mirror, perhaps with the player having to roll twice next time and take the poorer result, or it could introduce a plot complication later in the adventure, much as happens in the PDQ system when a PC takes damage.
Does anyone know of a system that already used this idea? or is it a house rule you've encountered? Does it seem like a fair or interesting mechanic?
Posted 09 May 2015 - 02:44 PM
The new edition of Chill kinda does this. There are some tokens at the start of the game, some dark and some light. Envoys may flip light ones over in order to get some of those perks you mention. The Chill Master may flip over dark tokens in order to use certain Evil Ways or revoltin' developments.
(I bought the .pdf of the new edition. Haven't finished reading it yet).
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users