6 replies to this topic

#1 Thunder

Thunder

Zealot

• Patrons
  • 108 posts
  • LocationOntario, Canada

Posted 11 January 2013 - 10:37 PM

I used to be such an addict, back in the day. I started playing D&D in Grade 4, at my friend's place, back in 1991...I still have the manual. Dungeons and Dragons Rules Cyclopedia...

I miss you, RPGs.

How do I get back into it? I tried with a few folks closeby, but they were very...unique individuals. I'd really love to have some regular folks.

What are your experiences? Ideas? Thoughts?

My downside is that I *hate* doing DM work.

#2 bodhranist

bodhranist

Goblin

• Members
  • 148 posts

Posted 12 January 2013 - 10:57 AM

4th grade, Rules Cyclopedia... sounds a lot like me!

To get back into it, there are a few places to check. Local gaming stores often have flyers posted looking for players and/or DMs. There may be local RPG or board game groups where you can meet potential players. For that, just google your city/area and "RPG" or "board game" and go from there. There are probably message boards, mailing lists, and events.

Pathfinder seems to have largely taken over D&D's mantle, and they've got a world-wide organized play network. You can go to http://paizo.com/pat...rSociety/events and see what they have local to you. With that, you know someone else is doing the DMing. D&D still has the similar RPGA, with D&D Encounters and Living Forgotten Realms, but no one I know still plays 4th edition, which is what those run.

If that doesn't work, sci-fi/fantasy/comic book/gaming conventions will be packed full of people who are probably into gaming, so going to one of those and being outgoing can easily get you some contacts. A smaller but still significant proportion of people at renaissance faires are gamers.

Also, it could totally work to put up an ad up on craigslist in the community section.