• Create Account
Photo

What do I need to know to DM a game of 4e?

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 ZachDood77

ZachDood77

Stirge

• Members
  • 353 posts
  • LocationNorth Carolina

Posted 07 April 2009 - 10:44 AM

As the topic suggests I'm taking on the seemingly (to myself) suicidal task of DMing a game with no experience with the 4e system and limited expereince in roleplaying in general. Therefore I need help from my friends at RPGMP3.com. What can you all teach me about DMing 4e? what about DMing in general?
(Note: I realize this isn't the smartest thing I've ever done but I have no choice as most of my friends have no experience in D&D or roleplaying but want to play. Unfortunately that makes me the resident expert. :( As you can tell by the not-smiley face I am not an expert. :cry: Please help me RPGMP3. Your my only hope...

#2 Dwarth

Dwarth

Kobold

• Members
  • 95 posts
  • LocationMontreal, QC, Canada

Posted 07 April 2009 - 01:51 PM

Thir is one rule to rules them all...

The DM is always right :-)

#3 Caelvan

Caelvan

Goblin

• Members
  • 105 posts

Posted 07 April 2009 - 03:24 PM

I must say that I am interested in this topic too. I have been a DM in 2nd and 3rd edition, and am looking at starting up a 4th edition game over the summer.

Anyway, the main advice I can give is try to be flexible ... the players never do what you want them to.

#4 BigJackBrass

BigJackBrass

Whartson Hall Gamer

• Administrators
  • 4,601 posts
  • Amazon Wishlist
  • LocationStalybridge

Posted 07 April 2009 - 03:40 PM

Start by reminding your friends that you're all new at this and aiming to have a good time, so everyone needs to be patient while a rule is checked or if you have to quickly read ahead for part of the adventure if you've forgotten something.