#1 MelkiorWhiteblade

MelkiorWhiteblade

Lantern Archon

• Members
  • 1,186 posts
  • LocationRoseville, CA

Posted 02 April 2009 - 11:20 AM

Hi All,

I've been participating in Relay for Life for several years now. What is Relay for Life you ask?

Relay For Life is the American Cancer Society’s signature activity. It offers everyone in a community an opportunity to participate in the fight against cancer. Teams of people camp out at a local high school, park, or fairground and take turns walking or running around a track or path. Each team is asked to have a representative on the track at all times during the event. Relays are an overnight event, up to 24 hours in length.

The reason I participate is my wife is a cancer survivor. When she was young (4 years old), she started having severe headaches, forgot words and phrases, and lost some motor control.

When she saw a pediatrician, he said it was childhood migraines and prescribed medicine. It wasn't until she got a second opinion that the symptoms were recognized as the result of a malignant brain tumor the size of a golf ball. They operated within a week, and she had radiation treatments.

Today, she is doing great, thanks to the quick action of the doctors and surgeons. However, things could have turned out differently.

Please help support me and the American Cancer Society in this event. They use the money for research, education, advocacy and service.

The local relay I'll be in takes place April 18th and 19th, 2009 in Roseville, CA.

You can make a donation, and any amount is appreciated, or you can request a luminaria in memory of or in honor of someone affected by cancer that will be lit at the lumaria ceremony. If you let me know, I can take a picture and send it to you as well. (BTW - The money goes straight to the American Cancer Society and not to me.)

I know with the economy being tight this is a bit to ask for, so posts of support are also appreciated.